A Little On Writing

I really enjoy writing. It’s one of my absolute favourite things to do. I love it when words flow together well and make something beautiful. Because I enjoy writing so much I chose to take a college composition class that was offered at my high school. This class has been absolutely amazing for me. There are habits in my writing that I didn’t know I had. Things like a tendency to forget commas, over-explaining, circular logic, floral language. Things that I wouldn’t have been able to detect by myself. I also have a theme that I follow I’ve noticed. I don’t have a very wide variety of genres so to speak. Now, this doesn’t apply to fictional writing. It’s a lot easier to branch out in fictional writing than it is when writing a research paper or something to that extent.

What I’m struggling with most right now, is personal interest in the content. I’ve been assigned to write a 1200+ word argumentative essay over a topic of my choosing. I love writing about the psychological and sociological aspect of things. I find the subjects intriguing. But I’m not in any way interested in arguing my point over one of these subjects. I like to think of myself as pretty chill. I don’t find reason to disagree with your opinion because honestly, I just don’t care. So for this essay I had to choose a topic from a list of topics given to us if we were unable to come up with one on our own.

I would have liked to write an essay about the importance of a neutral standpoint rather than that of a conservative or liberal, and maybe I will someday. But for now, there isn’t enough time or research on that topic for me to write an essay. So I chose to write about what the “selfie” tells us about ourselves. There are a few problems with this topic.

  1. I don’t care.
  2. It’s impossible to write entirely in the third person
  3. I don’t care.
  4. All the literature on this topic is art v. narcissism
  5. I don’t care.
  6. There’s not even a good standpoint I could have on this.
  7. I don’t care.
  8. Ima get roasted if I ever post it online
  9. I don’t care
  10. And finally, I DON’T CARE.

At this point I’ve done a lot of research on the psychology of selfies and come to the conclusion that I don’t care. In fact, the more I read about the topic the LESS I care. So here I will summarize everything I have found:

Selfies are not inherently bad for us and everyone takes them including the Pope. Nobody really cares about your selfies unless they say otherwise and you don’t need to get all worked up about it. Excessive selfies basically just tell us you’re either a friggin’ narcissist or incredibly insecure.

Too many selfies are annoying and unnecessary. Stop being annoying and unnecessary.

I’m OUT!

Leave a comment