How To Be Pretty

Age: 18 Day 6/365

Some things I learned this week:

  • It is correct grammar to say theirself rather than themself when speaking in the singular.
  • The room looks brighter when it’s clean.
  • Headphones that work are positively fantastic.
  • People are pleased by even the smallest of things
  • How to be pretty.

I have spent the past week in an incredibly bad mood. I woke up early Monday morning and still managed to be late. I woke up early Tuesday morning and was late again. I woke up later Wednesday morning and was on time. I was then late Thursday and late Friday. I hate being late. I started using a new facial scrub for my acne and my skin broke out really bad. My room was an atrocious mess because I don’t have time to clean. I went to bed late all week because I was working on all my school work. I didn’t manage to get a shower in for a good three of those days because I had to work and someone insisted I went to their party.

All week I was in a terrible mood and looked like the most disgusting thing that’s come out of my basement yet. People kept asking me if I was alright. They didn’t talk to me much because I was testy and angry. I was all manner of things that nobody likes. I was the epitome of the word Ugly.

I realized I was bored. I was tired of my routine and not having time to do the things I like to do or talking to the people that I want to talk to. As a team my colorguard talked to the coach. We told her we needed time off to focus on our work. We got it. Come Thursday I didn’t have to teach middle schoolers the same thing I’ve been teaching them for weeks. I had time to practice piano as I needed. My lesson went incredibly well. That evening a mutual follower on a website I frequent asked for a partner to write a webcomic with. I got excited and jumped on the opportunity. I then spent the rest of my time talking to a very good friend. At that point everything was alright.

Thursday night I took a shower and slept very well. So well in fact that I overslept and was late Friday. I didn’t care. I was happy. I wore my favorite shirt and spent time with my family. My brother bought me a pair of headphones to replace my sad old white pair. I just generally had a good time.

I felt pretty that day. I like to stare at pretty people. The kind of person that looks nice and looks confident. The person that walks past and looks comfortable in their own skin. I tend to watch them. I don’t realize sometimes that I can be that person. Walking around Friday night I figured that out. I noticed the pretty people were staring at me and not the other way around. I happened to notice myself in the mirror and thought, “Woah. Since when am I this good looking?” Since I was happy.

Beauty, and good looks aren’t necessarily all about outward appearance. It definitely helps to be clean though. The concept rests in how you feel about yourself. I was ugly because I felt ugly. I was pretty because I felt pretty. The acne didn’t go away in just one night’s rest. But that one night’s rest helped me feel so much better about myself.

How to be pretty:

  • Be clean
  • Sleep as needed
  • Get excited about something. Don’t just wallow in the same old routine. Have a project to focus your mind on.
  • Wear clothes that make you happy and feel good.
  • Talk to people that make you happy.
  • Feel good about yourself.

That’s what I learned this week.

Post Script: This isn’t a guaranteed thing. It’s my thing. Also, all my favorite shirts happen to be plaid. I have enough plaid to wear everyday for over a week. It makes me happy.

Leave a comment